Formation of new states in india

One of special features of the Union of India is that the union is indestructible but the power conferred on Parliament includes the power to form a new state or union territory by uniting a part of any State or Union territory to other State or Union territory.

In the Punjab Reorganization Act was implemented. Jambuwantrao Dhote led a popular struggle for Vidarbha statehood in the s. Amendment of article 31A. Salve and Vasant Sathehave led attempts to bring about a state of Vidarbha in recent times.

Though the country and the people may be divided into different states for convenience of administration, the country is one integral whole, its people a single people living under a single imperium derived from a single source. At the time of leaving, the British dissolved their treaty relations with princely states, which were encouraged to accede to either India or Pakistan, while under no compulsion to do so.

Short title and commencement. India comprises of 36 states and Union territories. At the time of independence in there were 11 Provinces and numerous say Princely states. People mainly speak Ladakhi. Chandigarh was established as a Union Territory and was shared by both Punjab and Haryana.

The region coincides with Formation of new states in india Aurangabad Division of Maharashtra. First Schedule lists the States and Territories of India and also lists if any changes to borders of them.

Pre-independence[ edit ] The Indian subcontinent has been ruled by many different ethnic groups throughout its history, each instituting their own policies of administrative division in the region. The new Constitution of Indiawhich came into force on 26 Januarymade India a sovereign democratic republic.

Khandesh lies on the Northwestern corner of the Deccan plateau, in the valley of the Tapi Riverand is bound to the north by the Satpura Rangeto the east by the Berar Vidarbha region, to the south by the Hills of Ajanta, belonging to the Marathwada region of Maharashtra, and to the west by the northernmost ranges of the Western Ghatsand beyond them the coastal plain of Gujarat.

North-East reorganisation Nagaland was created in Our constitution provides the prospective changes including alteration of boundaries. It was named for the Vindhya Rangewhich runs through the center of the province. Some of the princely states were quite big such as — Kashmir, Mysore and Hyderabad while some were very small like Junagadh, Udaipur, Aundh and Cochin.

It is also considered proper to make it clear that power under clause a of article 3 includes power to form a new State or Union territory by uniting a part of a State or Union territory to another State or Union territory.

History of Formation of Indian States

The new republic was also declared to be a "Union of States". The demand for the creation of a separate state are based on allegations of neglect by the Maharashtra state government.

History of Formation of Indian States

However, it was renamed as Uttarakhand in The Mysore state was expanded as the western Hyderabad state and the Coorg state were added to it. States and Union Territories Reorganization Act, This act was a major instrument which shaped the boundaries of States and Territories after independence.

Subsequent judicial decisions interpreting articles 14, 19 and 31 have raised serious difficulties in the way of the Union and the States putting through other and equally important social welfare legislation on the desired lines, e. The proposed Konkan state includes the districts of Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg of Maharashtranorth and south districts of Goa and Karwar up to Aghanashini in Karnataka.

Between the years andall the princely states were integrated within the Indian Union. When other members were added to the family Several changes have been effected into this list to make the present set of 29 states, six UTs and one National Capital Territory of Delhi that make the Schedule 1 of our Constitution.

The only Part D state was the Andaman and Nicobar Islandswhich were administered by a lieutenant governor appointed by the central government. As a corollary to the proposed amendment of article 31A, it is proposed in clause 5 of the Bill to include in the Ninth Schedule to the Constitution two more State Acts and four Central Acts which fall within the scope of sub-clauses d and f of clause 1 of the revised article 31A.

Inas a part of the States Reorganization Act, the states in India were arranged on linguistic basis. The Laccadive Islands which were divided between South Canara and Malabar districts of Madras State were united and organised into the union territory of Lakshadweep.

Most of the states acceded to India and some to Pakistan. June 2,the country got its newest, 29th state, in Telangana.India is a federal union comprising 29 states and 7 union territories, for a total of 36 states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative willeyshandmadecandy.comon: Republic of India.

India is a federal union comprising 29 states and 7 union territories, for a total of 36 states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions. Formation of New States in India The last few days, oh months there has been a great debate on the formation of a seperate state,of Telengana from Andhra Pradesh.

Formation of New States in India

The people are revolting, doing dharnas, fasting, violence,students have joined the movement for the formation of the state. The present Central Government of India is having the burden of taking the right decision at the right time in the matter of further dividing the existing states as per the demands made.

“Divide and Rule” is a policy handled by the then British Government which ruled India for more than a century. The creation of new states and territories in India is a power reserved solely for the Parliament of India. Parliament can do so by announcing new states, separating territory from an existing state or by merging two or more states or parts thereof.

[1]. State formation in India: the states in India were arranged on linguistic basis. This resulted in the creation of new states.

Andhra Pradesh was created by merging Andhra State with the Telugu.

Formation of new states in india
Rated 3/5 based on 34 review